need opinion

Go down

need opinion

Post by Shugga on Sat 01 Mar 2008, 09:05

Im lvling my mage, and im thinking about him seriuos in pvp. So i need some info about pvp with mage. Since it my first mage for loooonnnngggg time, i need opinion which talent tree is best for pvp, which talent tree works most. Etc. and.. dont post things like "my char > mage" (edoly :* )
avatar
Shugga
Sergeant
Sergeant

Number of posts : 25
Age : 31
Registration date : 2008-02-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Napsterius on Sat 01 Mar 2008, 10:13

well depends your playing style...

Fire spells are primarily damage-dealing spells, including direct single-target damage and area of effect (AoE) damage. With Fire comes other side-effects such as damage over time, and for fire-specializing mages, stun, disorient and daze effects. Fire spells typically have a higher damage output potential than Frost or Arcane spells, and accordingly higher threat. Fire's stun, disorient and daze effects also typically have both a lower proc rate and duration than Frost's snare as well, in order to balance the higher damage.

Frost spells are primarily single-target and area of effect damage-dealing spells, but with more emphasis on chilling effects. Nearly every frost spell has a chill or freeze effect that fully or partially immobilizes an enemy. This includes freezing it in place (called a root) or slowing its movement speed (called a snare). Frost specialized mages can further improve these chilling effects and increase frost damage output to respectable levels. Frost spells help the mage use kiting as a combat tactic.

Arcane spells are primarily utility spells, though there are several useful direct-damage arcane spells, including the very useful area of effect spell Arcane Explosion. Arcane spells allow the mage to remove curses, provide crowd control, absorb damage, teleport himself or others to major capital cities, Slow Fall, Counterspell, buff players' intellect stat, save mana for later use in the form of mana gems, conjure food and water for himself or others, and perform many other useful roles that give the mage class its perks.

(For myself for example Im elementalist meaning Frost/Fire I could pwn in PvP but my gear sucks
My Build: http://www.wowhead.com/?talent=oZVgGzcccoZVArcobxs0o)

Remember mage is like most fragile laser cannon... Meaning keep distance and you love counterspell and polymorph


Last edited by Napsterius on Sat 01 Mar 2008, 10:46; edited 1 time in total

_________________
avatar
Napsterius
Grand Marshal
Grand Marshal

Number of posts : 170
Age : 26
Location : Finland
Registration date : 2008-02-25

View user profile http://laststand.lightbb.com

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Don on Sat 01 Mar 2008, 10:32

Well this is the build i had for my mage which i used to play about 3 months back and i used to pawn almost anyone on this server with this build


Level 70 Mage (0/14/47)

Arcane (0 points)

None

Fire (14 points)

Improved Fireball - Rank 5/5
Reduces the casting time of your Fireball spell by 0.5 sec.

Ignite - Rank 5/5
Your critical strikes from Fire damage spells cause the target to burn for an additional 40% of your spell's damage over 4 sec.

Improved Fire Blast - Rank 3/3
Reduces the cooldown of your Fire Blast spell by 1.5 sec.

Pyroblast - Rank 1/1
Hurls an immense fiery boulder that causes 877 to 1087 Fire damage and an additional 324 Fire damage over 12 sec

Frost (47 points)

Improved Frostbolt - Rank 5/5
Reduces the casting time of your Frostbolt spell by 0.5 sec.

Ice Shards - Rank 5/5
Increases the critical strike damage bonus of your Frost spells by 100%.

Frostbite - Rank 3/3
Gives your Chill effects a 15% chance to freeze the target for 5 sec.

Improved Frost Nova - Rank 2/2
Reduces the cooldown of your Frost Nova spell by 4 sec.

Permafrost - Rank 3/3
Increases the duration of your Chill effects by 3 sec and reduces the target's speed by an additional 10%.

Piercing Ice - Rank 3/3
Increases the damage done by your Frost spells by 6%.

Icy Veins - Rank 1/1
Hastens your spellcasting, reducing cast time of all spells by 20% and increases the chance your chilling effects will Freeze the target by 10%. Lasts 20 sec.

Shatter - Rank 5/5
Increases the critical strike chance of all your spells against frozen targets by 50%.

Cold Snap - Rank 1/1
When activated, this spell finishes the cooldown on all Frost spells you recently cast.

Improved Cone of Cold - Rank 3/3
Increases the damage dealt by your Cone of Cold spell by 35%.

Ice Floes - Rank 2/2
Reduces the cooldown of your Cone of Cold, Cold Snap, Ice Barrier and Ice Block spells by 20%.

Winter's Chill - Rank 5/5
Gives your Frost damage spells a 100% chance to apply the Winter's Chill effect, which increases the chance a Frost spell will critically hit the target by 2% for 15 sec. Stacks up to 5 times.

Ice Barrier - Rank 1/1
Instantly shields you, absorbing 977 damage. Lasts 1 min. While the shield holds, spells will not be interrupted

Arctic Winds - Rank 3/5
Increases all Frost damage you cause by 3% and reduces the chance melee and ranged attacks will hit you by 3%.

Empowered Frostbolt - Rank 5/5
Your Frostbolt spell gains an additional 10% of your bonus spell damage effects and an additional 5% chance to critically strike.


Well this was about 3 months back, but now i don't know what spells are working and what is not. i feel it's still the same but u should crosscheck
avatar
Don
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Number of posts : 106
Age : 32
Location : INDIA
Registration date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Iampif on Sat 01 Mar 2008, 11:14

Frost build is more for PvE

i think you should make him fire with merceles you can own everyone on the server i have a friend that play fire mage in retail server and his fire with merceles (now vengefull Smile ) is one of the best PvP players on the server

Iampif
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant

Number of posts : 36
Registration date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Kossak on Sat 01 Mar 2008, 11:21

Talk with Robertos in guild. He's playing mage for 2 years, he knows every trick, ask him for some advices.
avatar
Kossak
Private
Private

Number of posts : 9
Age : 32
Location : Romania
Registration date : 2008-02-29

View user profile http://www.kossak.hi5.com

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Shugga on Sat 01 Mar 2008, 11:29

well, thanks guys it helped me a lot. I wanted to be full frost ( i think i watched too many frost mages movie), but now i see how elementalist can pwn. Both (don & Napsterius) ur talents tree looks intresting but i think ill use a Napsterius ones ill also gonna talk with robertos Smile
avatar
Shugga
Sergeant
Sergeant

Number of posts : 25
Age : 31
Registration date : 2008-02-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Edoly on Sat 01 Mar 2008, 12:45

Who said frost is for PvE? ur a nerd and if u have a mage u suck for sure, im sure that im BWoW the best trees are hibrids, Naps' one is really good but im using fire/arcane hybrid and it works really good, fire has lots of instant spells also and if u crit with any spell u have ignite habilitie which owns, my tree is: http://www.wowhead.com/?talent=oi0xc0fzxZEgbzc0cRxo i love it and i find fire funnyest than frost, well try it, good luck and Edoly > all Very Happy
avatar
Edoly
Knight-Captain
Knight-Captain

Number of posts : 70
Age : 28
Registration date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Nehe on Sun 02 Mar 2008, 03:06

i played few years on ofc and my main was mage..there are best frost mages in pvp but on this srvr i think is good all...here u can have better things than on ofc for 1 year..Razz mages with 1k+ spell dmg can fire, frost, arcane and in 1v1 can beat all:P

Nehe
Corporal
Corporal

Number of posts : 13
Age : 30
Registration date : 2008-02-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Don on Sun 02 Mar 2008, 04:17

Nehe wrote:i played few years on ofc and my main was mage..there are best frost mages in pvp but on this srvr i think is good all...here u can have better things than on ofc for 1 year..Razz mages with 1k+ spell dmg can fire, frost, arcane and in 1v1 can beat all:P


Nah no mages defeat me Very Happy
avatar
Don
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Number of posts : 106
Age : 32
Location : INDIA
Registration date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Mikac on Sun 02 Mar 2008, 07:51

if u ask me Pyrogirl is one of best mage's on server,even tho i had some fights with him before,i sugest u ask him Smile

Mikac
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Number of posts : 92
Age : 30
Location : Ljubovija,Serbia
Registration date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Don on Sun 02 Mar 2008, 09:21

Mikac wrote:if u ask me Pyrogirl is one of best mage's on server,even tho i had some fights with him before,i sugest u ask him Smile

Well there is a mage from Echo who is the best on this server , forgot his name though and he has "cowl of illidari highlord" and also he pawns in PvP
avatar
Don
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Number of posts : 106
Age : 32
Location : INDIA
Registration date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Shugga on Sun 02 Mar 2008, 11:03

now im rly confused, all talent trees r awesome:) arcane - POM , its great ability, i can imagine ganking hordes on flying mount (POM + poly)
avatar
Shugga
Sergeant
Sergeant

Number of posts : 25
Age : 31
Registration date : 2008-02-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Edoly on Sun 02 Mar 2008, 12:43

Imagine be this: http://www.wowhead.com/?talent=oVxxcobzthhqZVgGd000o im using it since yesterday and its simply awesome, instant Pyroblast+Arcane missiles spam (each missil hits for 900 with my 1k spelldamage) and then some instants, ur simply unwinnable.
avatar
Edoly
Knight-Captain
Knight-Captain

Number of posts : 70
Age : 28
Registration date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Napsterius on Sun 02 Mar 2008, 13:06

Edoly that is ancient build 3-min mage

_________________
avatar
Napsterius
Grand Marshal
Grand Marshal

Number of posts : 170
Age : 26
Location : Finland
Registration date : 2008-02-25

View user profile http://laststand.lightbb.com

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Edoly on Sun 02 Mar 2008, 13:41

what does it means? lolz
avatar
Edoly
Knight-Captain
Knight-Captain

Number of posts : 70
Age : 28
Registration date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Shugga on Sun 02 Mar 2008, 14:16

it means that u pwn every 3min, but on cd POM u sucks Very Happy

thats what i think
avatar
Shugga
Sergeant
Sergeant

Number of posts : 25
Age : 31
Registration date : 2008-02-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Edoly on Sun 02 Mar 2008, 16:53

ye but for arena it owns
avatar
Edoly
Knight-Captain
Knight-Captain

Number of posts : 70
Age : 28
Registration date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Don on Sun 02 Mar 2008, 23:28

Myself + Edoly == Gods of arena (we are unbeatable) Laughing
avatar
Don
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Number of posts : 106
Age : 32
Location : INDIA
Registration date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Mikac on Mon 03 Mar 2008, 03:37

lol....i still dont have Arena team,and THAT SUXX!!

Mikac
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Number of posts : 92
Age : 30
Location : Ljubovija,Serbia
Registration date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Shugga on Mon 03 Mar 2008, 04:08

dam i never lvl up my mage, i got probz with net, job, university.... fuck!
avatar
Shugga
Sergeant
Sergeant

Number of posts : 25
Age : 31
Registration date : 2008-02-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Edoly on Mon 03 Mar 2008, 11:25

Storm nobody wants u, btw Don i discovered how to create the arena team, we will get arena points now Razz
avatar
Edoly
Knight-Captain
Knight-Captain

Number of posts : 70
Age : 28
Registration date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Don on Mon 03 Mar 2008, 12:13

Edoly wrote:Storm nobody wants u, btw Don i discovered how to create the arena team, we will get arena points now Razz

o nice 1 Edoly , finally i can have my points go up in the arena column Laughing
avatar
Don
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Number of posts : 106
Age : 32
Location : INDIA
Registration date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Shugga on Mon 03 Mar 2008, 14:53

guys, i got old mage talent tree. In this new one ice block is for free. I got patch 2.3.0 to what patch i need upgrade to get this new mage talens trees? and does burningwow support this patch?
avatar
Shugga
Sergeant
Sergeant

Number of posts : 25
Age : 31
Registration date : 2008-02-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Mikac on Tue 04 Mar 2008, 17:48

Edoly wrote:Storm nobody wants u, btw Don i discovered how to create the arena team, we will get arena points now Razz

LIES,i now u want to go in arena with me Razz

Mikac
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Number of posts : 92
Age : 30
Location : Ljubovija,Serbia
Registration date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: need opinion

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum